Posted in NewLife Outlook

What People With Depression Want Others to Know

Depression is one of the most common mental health issues in the United States.

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), depression affects 1 in 20 Americans over the age of 12, and the World Health Organization (WHO) reports depression affects more than 300 million people worldwide.

Despite the prevalence of depression in the United States and around the world, depression is a very misunderstood condition. It’s no surprise that people who are living with depression get frustrated by the lack of knowledge and understanding from others when explaining their condition.

9 Things Depressed People Want You to Know

I have struggled with depression for most my adult life and I’ve tried to explain my struggle with depression to others, but these conversations didn’t go as well as I wanted.

It felt like my friends and family didn’t understand what depression is and how it affects people.

If I could speak up for others living with depression, here are some of the things I think they would want their friends and loved ones to know about the condition.

Anyone Can Suffer From Depression

Depression doesn’t have a stereotype and it doesn’t discriminate. It can affect anyone at any age, gender, race or ethnic group.

Depression is the result of chemical imbalances in the brain, hormonal changes, or stress from the things that are going in your life.

Depression Does Not Equal Weakness

Many people think being depressed means you are weak and that is not true. The strongest people are the ones who find themselves depressed.

I am the strongest person that most people know, and I’m the one that everyone relies on. This had me thinking about how I have to bear the most and ask for little help.

Read the rest at New Life Outlook.

Leave a Reply

